Massachusetts Used Car Lemons
Everyone feels hesitation about buying a used car. It’s inevitable to feel like you’re buying someone else’s problems. But the reality is that, in today’s economy, few people can afford to buy a new vehicle. Thankfully, if you live in Massachusetts, there are two laws that protect consumers who find themselves with a used car lemon.
The first law is called the Lemon Aid Law, which covers cars that have been purchased in the previous 14 days. This lets you cancel your sales contract if two conditions apply: The car doesn’t pass inspection and the repair cost of safety-related defects would cost more than 10 percent of what you paid for the vehicle. Both cars and motorcycles are covered under the Lemon Aid Law, and it applies whether you buy the vehicle from a dealer or an individual.
If you take advantage of the Lemon Aid Law, there are a number of steps you need to take before the window of opportunity closes. It starts with getting a statement from a licensed inspection station, and includes getting a written estimate of repair costs, notifying the seller, and returning the car to the seller. You are also entitled to receive refunds for the sales tax, title, and registration fees, but you must file for those separately.
The second law is called the Used Vehicle Warranty Law. This also covers vehicles sold by either a dealer or an individual. In order to qualify, you must have paid $700 for the vehicle and it must have had fewer than 125,000 miles on the odometer when you purchased it. While new cars, vans, and trucks are covered by this used car lemon law, motorcycles, business vehicles, and leased vehicles are not covered.
The length of time that this used car lemon law applies depends upon how many miles there were on the odometer when you purchased it. For example, if there were fewer than 40,000 miles, the warranty period is 90 days or 3,750 miles – whichever comes first. If there were 40,000 to 79,999 miles on the odometer, you’re covered for 60 days or 2,500 miles. If there were 80,000 to 124,999 miles, you’re covered for 30 days or 1,250 miles.
If you think you have a used car lemon on your hands, it’s worth your while to contact a lawyer who specializes in MA lemon law. The windows of opportunity are incredibly short, and dealers are notorious for trying to stall consumers in the hope that the clock will run out and that you won’t have a legal leg to stand on. The legal team at LemonJustice.com can help you navigate the waters of used car lemon law, so it’s worth giving them a call.